An RF newbie taegrtting Bronica RF645 (or Mamiya 6/7 ?)

alexz

Well-known
Local time
3:09 AM
Hello all, just get registered here in RF community.
I'm an avid photo amateur, having shooting with 35mm for last 9 years using a pro Canon SLR system (film, of course) and two ears ago made my foray into large format (through short experience with 6x6 medium format by TLR). Really enjoying my 4x5, but figured my Canon gear gets almost no use last 2 years and the thought of lugging around a heafty and bulky Canon doesn't sound appealing any more (so that is on of the main reasons it is getting bored in the closet).
I made up my mind to sell off the entire 35mm system and acquire a light/manageable and confortable MF system, i.e. a rangefinder to serve as a backup to my LF passion and for all-around shooting.
My choices are either Bronica RF645 or Mamiya 6 (or probably 7 ?). I know about format differences and 6x4.5 will suit me without problem, who Mamiya still sounds tempting. So far I'm leaning towards Bronica which gets excellent reviews in almost any respects, though what bothers me is the lack of more or less long lenses. I understand in practice, the longest available is 100mm (which translates into something like 60mm in 35mm format, am I wrong ?). For general shooting I guess it is well enough, though an availability of something close to 90-100mm in 35mm format meaning would be nice... Well, not a deal breaker I guess but anyway...
The high praises for Mamiya's RF optics can be heard from nearly every corner on the internet, however there are opinions it is quite harsh (in terms of out of focus, bokeh), whilst Bronica's lenses are more pleasing in this respect while offering also very high optical quality. Am I misleaded ?

How do you, RF645 shooters find the lack of longer then 10mmm limiting in actual use ? I mean all-around shooting such as trips, vacations, some family portraiture, etc...