Any experience with TTArtisans 25mm f2?

x-ray

Mentor
Local time
4:27 PM
Today I ordered a TTArtisans 25mm f2 for my XT-3 and XE-1. I was thinking of keeping it on my XE-1 body as a toss in the car setup for when I see something I want to photograph and don’t have anything else other than my phone. I find myself making images with my phone and wishing I had something better. This should be a small light weight setup thats easy to carry in a small belt pouch.

I’ve found very little user info and wanted to see if anyone here has any experience with it.

Thanks!

I have no experience with this particular lens. The only thing I can really add is that I have used several TTA lenses on my XPro2 bodies and they are pretty much all bargains for the prices. The 35/1.4 and 23/1.4 are both quite nice. TTA build quality is excellent although it's a little unsophisticated by today's techie standards. They are more designed for a "character" look than a pristine clinical look. I like that look--I don't really care if the corners and edges are perfectly sharp in my photos.

At the low prices asked for these lenses, there's no reason not to try them out. The 25mm focal length seems a good choice for your purpose.

its a great choice to get that lens - its tiny it seems and will make xe1 very pocketable with it. i use ttartisan 35/1.4 and it is very nice and sharp, tried some others before like 17/1.4 and was also pretty good. i also use xe1 so im sure you will also be satisfied.

Thanks for the comments.

Dogman I agree, I’m not into the clinical look at all. After getting a set of Leicas current top glass I hated the look and sold them and returned to almost exactly the same kit I used in the 60’s. I hate that sterile over enhanced look.

I retired this year from almost 55 years as a commercial photographer and am selling all my Nikon G glass but keeping my Df and the AIs primes I used on it. I love the more subtle look of that older glass.