Anyone using RAW Power app to convert B&W negatives?

madNbad

Well-known
Local time
6:35 PM
I'm just starting out with using a digital camera to scan negatives. A Sony A6000 with a Voigtlander 50 2.0 Heilar and extension tubes on a copy stand. Wireless live view to an iPad to assist with focusing and also has a remote shutter release. The problem is which software to use. Most months I may shoot two or three rolls of T-Max 400 and no digital so, to me, I can't justify the subscription price for Lightroom. The low cost or free software has some limitations, mostly being open source and a pain to install on a Macintosh or optimized for a Windows PC. I've tried both Gimp and Darktable but RAW Power from Gentlemen Coders is optimized for the Mac OS and offers pretty much the same tools as the other photo software but has the advantage of a reset if you make a mistake. I would like to ask if any other members are using it or have given it a try. Any information is appreciated.

48862168671_8a805412f9_z.jpg
[/url]IMG_1797 by Michael DeLuca, on Flickr[/IMG]

I'm just starting out with using a digital camera to scan negatives. A Sony A6000 with a Voigtlander 50 2.0 Heilar and extension tubes on a copy stand. Wireless live view to an iPad to assist with focusing and also has a remote shutter release. The problem is which software to use. Most months I may shoot two or three rolls of T-Max 400 and no digital so, to me, I can't justify the subscription price for Lightroom. The low cost or free software has some limitations, mostly being open source and a pain to install on a Macintosh or optimized for a Windows PC. I've tried both Gimp and Darktable but RAW Power from Gentlemen Coders is optimized for the Mac OS and offers pretty much the same tools as the other photo software but has the advantage of a reset if you make a mistake. I would like to ask if any other members are using it or have given it a try. Any information is appreciated.