Are Your Backups Safe?

bwcolor

Mentor
Local time
12:05 PM
I've taken hard knocks in my office when my staff member tried to conceal her destruction of lots of data by trying to recover files, but she overwrote multiple backups with corrupted data. At home, I lost all of my kids photos/videos from birth to four years old when I was transitioning to a new backup scheme. I intentionally destroyed my backup drive data while configuring it for the new software. My computers hard drive completely died. No way.. bad timing. Luckily, I was able to piece together everything, but it took me months.

Ubuntu Linux servers are inexpensive to put together. I'm no expert, but redundant commercial drives, gigabit networking and little Atom 330 processor/motherboards give me great backup solutions. I get 80GB/sec local transfer rates and solid service. My office server backs up to my home server and the reverse is also true. All of my home computers backup to local drives, home server and business server. Each computer uses three separate programs and backsup to three destinations. Maybe overkill, but then again, I seem to like destroying my own data.

Don't trust one backup program to one destination.

Lately I've been posting photos on my blog from the 1950's through the 1970's, and because it's just plain easier, I've been posting off of my "back up data". Yup, I've been scanning from the contact sheets rather than the negatives. http://thepriceofsilver.blogspot.com

No, don't tell me that I should get everything, all my negatives and slides, scanned. I probably won't live long enough to finish the job and still leave time for other pursuits.

Last edited:
Same here. I documented my backup strategy here. I use a Shuttle KPC running Solaris and rsync over a 20Mbps Internet connection. I have 4 different copies for my photos, so I guess I am even more paranoid than you.