Canonet 28 with canolite problem

Canonsven

Local time
5:41 AM
Hi, I have a question about my canonet 28 with canolite d flash. The canonet works perfectly fine on both auto and manual aperture mode. The flash also fires when I am having the camera set on a manual aperture but when I put the camera on automatic mode in low light situations the canonet wont allow me to take a picture. Does anyone have an idea what might cause this problem or what I am doing wrong? I'm quite new to using the canonet with the canolite flash. Thanks!

Have you read the manual? From what i remember, the Canonet won't take pictures if the light is too low, in auto, so of course wouldn't trigger the flash. Normally you'd want to use manual aperture otherwise you don't have any control over the flash intensity - the shutter speed with an electronic flash is irrelevant as its duration is maybe 1/10,000 second so shorter than any shutter speed.

I suspect the camera isn't detecting the presence of the flash. With the camera set to A it should be automatic, if I'm not mistaken. If it doesn't know there is a flash connected, it likely thinks the light is too low, in which case it won't let the camera fire.

Have you checked the hot shoe contacts? Maybe one of the wires leading from the hot shoe is corroded...

Have you read the manual? From what i remember, the Canonet won't take pictures if the light is too low, in auto, so of course wouldn't trigger the flash. Normally you'd want to use manual aperture otherwise you don't have any control over the flash intensity - the shutter speed with an electronic flash is irrelevant as its duration is maybe 1/10,000 second so shorter than any shutter speed.