Considering moving from an NEX-7 based kit to Fuji X, but…

Ken Ford

Refuses to suffer fools
Local time
8:18 AM
I've been using an NEX-7 for two years, first as a supplement to my M6 based kit and then as a functional replacement for the same the majority of the time.

When I originally bought the NEX-7 I expected to mostly be using MF legacy glass (OM and Nikon); as it worked out I found myself using native NEX lenses the vast majority of the time. I like having the AF for most shooting, and I've found having lenses that communicate data to the body is preferable for everyday shooting to ones that don't.

While I like the NEX in general and the -7's EVF and Tri-Navi in particular, spending a recent week shooting my M6 after a few month's lapse followed by a week with my new X100s makes me realize how much better I do with a camera body that has traditional shutter speed on the top deck and aperture concentric around the lens barrel. Because of this, I'm considering moving from the NEX to a Fuji kit based around either an X-E2 or an X-PRO1 with a 23mm, 35mm and 56mm. The 23 and 56 relate well to my Leica 35/75 kit, and I've been appreciating the 35 on my NEX the last few months so would probably want another for the Fuji.

Cut and dried, right? Not quite.

I see all these APS sensor equipped cameras as stopgaps for what I really want - a relatively affordable full frame RF styled body (i.e. with the VF in the upper corner, not in a hump ala the new Sonys) that in addition to having native AF lenses can take my M lenses via adapters. (I'm willing to put up with adapted MF glass if they are my M lenses. :D) Because of this, the NEX-7 is and even a new Fuji would just be a way station en route to the final destination, and I'm a little leery of tying up too much disposable cash into something that might be replaced in just a year or two.