Eagerly awaiting waiting my R-d1(s)

TRGRichie

Local time
6:00 PM
Hello all,

I'm new to rangefinder cameras and new to the forum, I am (probably) like most? coming to this form of photography from a SLR background, I'm a professional photographer and art director by trade....but for some reason the Epson R-d1 caught my eye and I can't wait for it to arrive, at present due to limited funds I'll be shooting with a Jupiter 8, too be fair I love super sharp glass but there is also an appeal to old lesser quality lenses, For example I love my refurbished Helios 44 with custom fixed oval aperture, shame it's m42 (should I get an adapter and scale focus?).

I'm a big fan of post production, this might not be to everyone's liking? And personally consider this part of photography nearly as important as the taking of the actual photograph.

Anyway, if you guys have any advice for a first time rangefinder user and recommendations for future lenses - budget for the moment.

Cheers Richie.

I'd love an R-D1 put am saving for a Leica M9. If I get my payrise though...

Welcome to the forum. Post up some of your work :)

You will love your R-D1, Ritchie. It is fun with a capital F but can also produce some serious work.

If you are adept at post processing, be sure to shoot in raw+jpeg mode. Use Epson PhotoRAW along with Photoshop and Camera Raw. Try and get a copy of NIK Color Efex and Silver Efex. You can spend many enjoyable hours with this combination tweaking and adjusting, trying new ideas to get just the right look that you desire.

As to lenses....I have all Leica lenses from the early sixties in most focal lengths. If they were stolen or lost I think I would be hard pressed to go past the Cosina Voigtlander lenses as replacements. Used ones are fantastic value for money.