Epson 2200 Help

RayPA

Ignore It (It'll go away)
Local time
11:30 PM
I recently purchased a demo model of a 2200, for a really good price, good condition too. I know we have some 2200 users here. I've seen some great b&w prints made with this printer. Can anyone recommend a plan of action for producing quality b&w output, or point to some good online resources for setting this up? Sorry for the generalized question, but I'm a bleeping newbie on this end. TIA.

:)

Hi Ray,

I get great b&w results from this printer without resorting to inks other then the original Epson. I always desaturate my b&w scans and adjust from there - contrast, saturation, etc.. I print with all the colors on and use Epson Fine Art paper. If you have more specific questions, please PM me.

Cheers,

Keith

Thanks Keith, it's encouraging to know that I'll be able to achieve good output with the Epson inks. I've heard about the 3rd party ink sets, and thought I'd have to go that route to get anything decent. I've seen output using the Lyson (?) inks and they looked great.

Are you just printing straight from PS (or other image-editing software)? I've heard about people using special RIP's. Thanks again.

Hi Ray, the very best source of info on digital b&w printing is the yahoo group DigitalBlackAndWhiteThePrint. however, it's not easy to search the archives of yahoo groups and there have been tens of thousands of messages posted to that group. so, here's a short summary of some of your easiest alternatives:

1. Epson UC inks plus some software RIP, most likely QTR or QuadToneTip by Roy Harrington. QTR is a piece of shareware that has some learning curve but with it you can get good results without going into it to deeply. Its cost is $50.