Fed 5 - No 60th second selection?

muf

Well-known
Local time
2:45 PM
Hi,

I purchased a Fed 5. It is new unused stock. I got it and can honestly say it certainly looks like it's never been used. The lens, the body and inside are spotless. I have never used one before and the instruction manual is in Russian. I own a number of RF camera's and pretty much can find my way around a camera fairly quick.

I took the camera out to test it with a 36 exposure film in it. I can't seem to get the shutter speed selector to click in to 60th/sec. I can lift it and move it into all the other shutter speed slots but it won't drop down into it's position on 60th/sec. Has anyone got experience of this camera and maybe enlighten me. Could it be a fault or is there something i can do to remedy this. It's very odd that this is occuring it what is basically a brand new camera. Any help would be appreciated.

Paul

[edit: I have noticed that it clicks down into what would be 30th/sec but as there is no 30th labelled i'm wondering if it is in fact 60th/sec but is just a little out of alignment. There is another 30 on the dial but i'd be surprised if this is 30 seconds and maybe is 30th/sec and is the selection for flash as well. Only guessing. Help!]

Last edited:
I have a FED 5 C and 1/30 of a second is the synchronization speed and it is marked in red and it out of sequence from the rest of the shutter speeds on the dial, on my camera.

Starting at B and going around the dial clockwise the settings are B, 1/30, 1 second, 1/4, 1/8, 1/15, 1/60, 1/125, 1/250, and 1/500.

There is also a dot between the 1 second mark and the 1/4 second but I don't think it means anything. And the shutter speeds all work for me.

Dick

that looks like the ld version, 55/2.8.
is one set of numbers red? (sorry can't remember which set distance of f stop).

joe