Financing a Selfpublished Book with Kickstarter?

Why not put a sample or teaser on line and use it as bait for the printed version?

BTW, there's firms in Indian printing etc to order. I assume from their sites that means order one and they print one and post it...

Regards, David

My wife and I and a good friend self published a book four or five years ago. It's about the legendary moonshiner Popcorn Sutton. Popcorn became nationally famous after his 4th felony arrest and conviction for making and distributing illegal whiskey, tax evasion, firearms charges and drug charges. Three days before going back to federal prison he killed himself in his car, the 3 jar Ford, using a fabricated PVC drain pipe system to direct the exhaust into the car.

My wife is a retired creative director and graphic artist, my friend is a retired professional advertising writer and journalist and I'm a commercial and documentary photographer. None of us had any experience publishing but I knew people in the industry and did a huge amount of research.

My friend and I had spent three years documenting the like and illegal whiskey operation of Popcorn. I wound up with hundreds of B&W film based images of his personal life and business and my friend recorded many hours of digital recordings of Popcorn that eventually were turned into copy.

After Popcorn's death there became so much interest in him and his whiskey we decided to combine forces and produce a book. Each of the three of us contributed our tallness and produced a great selling book.

What we did was produce one version that we sell even to this day through Amazon. In addition we produced a very slick soft cover version we print through a very high quality local printer on a digital press. We front a few hundred at a time and distribute these through book stores, lectures and museum gift shops. Both versions have sold extremely well and the printer who prints the slick version asked to distribute and sell the books themselves.