First Cameras, Now Watches?

shyoon

Well-known
Local time
1:35 PM
Came across this article on an Australian news website the other day, discussing the resurgence of mechanical watches over the past year or so. Quite interesting and eerily similar statements to the never-ending film vs. digital argument that so plagues the interwebs.

A few choice excerpts from the article:

"Rather than just having an electronic, battery-operated something, they wanted something that really had a heritage and a mechanical basis to it."

"There's something quaintly mechanical about a watch that I think appeals to a certain generation of young people."

"They're admiring the longevity of mechanical things versus electronic things," Mr Kenney said.

"Electronic things are very accurate but they don't last long.

Link to the full article here.

I received a Digital Watch when I graduated High-School in 1975. It used LED's, and was totally cool.

After it siezed functioning, I switched back to Seiko Chronographs. Been wearing the same one since 1984. But- they do use batteries for operation.

Not only the younger generation but I, too, have ditched all things digital for a mechanical watch without a battery. Restored my first watch from my darling bride (1971 Bulova) and been wearing it now for three years.

It is much cooler with the ostrich band and I enjoy winding the watch periodically, not to mention knowing what time it is out of the corner of my eye without even looking/thinking about the time.:cool:

I normally wear a Timex sports digital watch with a million functions, primarily because on a given day I'm likely to use the stopwatch, countdown timer, and alarm functions for photographic and athletic purposes. On days when I don't need that, though, I wear a non-digital Swatch that I adore. There's something pleasing about the simplicity of the Swatch that the Timex just doesn't possess.