Found Contax G1 with enlarged 63mm Nikkor lens? Please help

dandunord

Local time
7:14 PM
Hello, last week at my local pawn shop i found this Contax G1 with a few scratches and without his original Carl Zeiss lens, but it was replaced with a contax ga-1 adapter and a enlarged lens for a nikkor 63mm? Im not an expert and this was my first rangefinder but i have never seen something alike.

I bought it for 35$ with the risk of not knowing if it was going to work or not...

The electronics in the body seems to work fine, so i tried a few rolls but got all blurry pics. The first roll i did it with the autofocus function and the second one with manual focus, neither of those gave me focused pictures :(

I dont know why would someone put that type on lense in a Contax, i dont have too much knowledge either... i would like some opinions

Thanks!

Last edited:
Strange. I think it would function as a close up lens. Trying to figure out how close might be difficult. I'm guessing in the 12 inch range.

35 is a good deal. All you need now is a genuine Contax G lens. Your camera was probably fixed to something to take macro shots without focusing.
PS: your links don‘t work.

$35 is a steal. Not much of a risk considering these cameras go for $300+ regularly. I would consider $200 to be a good deal for a working model.

I would google that lens. It looks like it might be for close up work only. One time I bought a retina and got a roll developed and everything came out blurry. After taking hours to take apart the lens and putting it back together I realized it had an (UNMARKED) close up filter on the front, causes all non-macro images to come out blurry. Took it off and it worked fine.

You got a good deal!!

Using an enlarger lens on that camera is an unusual setup. As someone said above, I think a previous owner may have tried to do close-up/macro work with it. I think you want to use the camera in a normal fashion.