Friends

Bill Pierce

Well-known
Local time
1:40 PM
I like cameras. I understand just enough of how they work that I also admire them. Consequently, I have too many cameras but am unable to part with them. They are my coworkers, my friends. We’ve had adventures together.

I don’t think I’m a collector. I’m a photographer, I think. But still I want more technically proficient friends, coworkers with more megapixels and improved auto focus - but not at the price of selling out friends who shared adventures and explored new worlds.

Do you think old friends would be happy sitting on the shelves of a camera store even if it was the same shelves they spent time on before we met? I have a feeling I’m not the only person who faces this problem. What would you do? Your thoughts?

I try not to anthropomorphize my gear so that I don't feel bad about trading or selling some of it, or even giving it away. I did at one time think of myself as a photographer with a lot of favorites for cameras, but soon realized I was just collecting them more than anything else. You figure that one out when you start buying cameras that you have no intention of ever using. Like the huge twin lens 70mm long roll monster I got just because it looks cool, and the owner wasn't asking too much for it. But now it's taking up too much space, like most of the other collection.

PF