Going back and forth on Monochrom typ 246 purchase

noisycheese

Normal(ish) Human
Local time
12:17 PM
I am doing research on the Monochrom typ 246 camera, thinking that sooner or later I will be in a position to acquire a copy. I have an M-P 240 which I use for color work and an M4-P which I currently use for black and white, shooting Kodak Tri-X and developing it myself.

Looking back over the past few years, it seems like I will shoot either color or B&W for months on end and then switch to the opposite for months or years on end. I have been shooting color for a couple of years now and I am feeling the pull of black and white again. Since I have the M4-P and a newly purchased brick of Tri-X, that's what I'm going to shoot with for the present. However... I still find my eye wandering to the Monochrom v.2 - the typ 246 - as a possibility for shooting black and white.

I am not an indecisive person, nor am I afraid to spend a large chunk of cash on Leica M gear. When I make a major purchase such as a new piece of Leica kit, I do my due diligence before parting with thousands of dollars; to do any less would be folly IMHO.

To further complicate matters, there is the fact that I do currently have other options for shooting black and white: (1.) Tri-X and my M4-P, and (2.) convert color files to B&W that have been shot with my M-P 240. Each of those two paths will produce its own unique fingerprint, as will shooting and printing from Monochrom B&W files; given the different options for B&W shooting and printing naturally opens the door for second guessing the decision to acquire the M-M typ 246 when the opportunity arises.

For anyone else who has been through this thought process on B&W photography and is willing to share their own experience, your insights would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks. :)