Inflation 2024

Here's the thing: it's a non-issue. I'm a hiring manager at a grocery store and we have no minimum wage positions. Indeed actual minimum wage jobs are not common anywhere. Barely over 1% of jobs in the U.S. pay minimum wage. So somebody warning about the economic danger of increasing the minimum wage, in real, practical terms, is about as relevant as somebody warning about the economic danger of increasing the sales tax on buggy whips or whale oil lamps.

No one is "entitled" to any particular wage, however desirable that may be. Price is a measure of scarcity and markets are efficient in setting prices. This is as true of labor as it is Ferraris. Minimum Wage is a talking point for politicians who want power by appealing to voters who want things they do not deserve and thus demand government force to make so. When they do this, they simply force companies to make other arrangements ... like using computerized robots for self-service or moving production to other nations where the labor prices are more aligned with supply and demand.

As others have pointed out here, no cost inflicted on a business is borne by that business. It's borne by the workers who get less compensation and by customers who endure higher prices.

More importantly, government interdiction distorts markets and masks market signals that would keep companies healthy. This is what happened to the UK and a good part of continental Europe. When the piper came calling, the locals wanted to blame capitalists, wage disparity, and a host of other imaginary causes when, in truth, what caused it was that businesses in these nations were inefficient and hadn't had to adjust to reality because of various government protections. When the invisible hand of Adam Smith inevitably showed up, it was a hard slap, instead of an incremental correction.

I just wanted to leave a couple of thought with you.