Canada Is it possible to live on photography in Canada?

Yuri

Local time
3:02 AM
Sorry for odd question: is it easy to convert the passion for photography into full-time occupation as photographer in Canada? Have anyone such experience? I am crazy about black and white street photography (http://wanderinglook.com/) but my day job is web-design. Most of all I`d like to give up design and devote myself to photography if it only bring enough money for living. Is there are any chances in Canada?

i think like most places, it would hard to make a living as an 'artist' but you could work as a photographer if you included weddings, family portraits etc.

I guess it's just as hard as anywhere else (meaning hard as hell!).

I've been making part of my income from professional photography for about 13 years in Montreal and I can assure you it's not easy. I'd say about 90% of the job is PR, promotion and stuff like that. You have to know the right people to get some decent opportunities. It's all about who you know. There are so many photographers around it's ridiculous.

Personally, as soon as I find something else that's steady enough, I'll quit pro photo completely. I'll just do it artistically, for my own pleasure. Ironically, I might end up having a lot more success that way! I have one artistic project that's coming to life slowly. Haven't shot a single frame yet and I'm getting offers for gallery space, publication and other stuff. Finding regular crappy and boring normal work remains hard though.

So, Yuri, if you're really good at doing your own PR and are extremely aggressive in the market, you might have a chance. It's an uphill battle though.

Yuri said: