Journaling, Diaries and Programs?

Archiver

Mentor
Local time
7:56 PM
Hi folks,

Given the interest that many photographers have in recording the past in images, some of us might also be interested in journals and diaries, and how they are stored. I'm looking for some thoughts and suggestions about maintaining a long standing diary into the future. Do you keep a diary or journal, and if so, what do you use?

I've been keeping written journals for many years, since I was a kid. In 2004, I started to write my journal in Treepad, which gave me the many benefits of digital journaling: typing far faster than I write, having everything perfectly legible, and being able to back everything up in multiple places with no extra physical space required, not to mention the privacy of a secured computer.

After a few months, I moved everything to Microsoft Word, and now have one Word document per year for the last eleven years. They are all password protected and backed up across many harddrives and physical locations. My reasoning is that Word format is one of the formats most likely to be read in future programs, given its ubiquity. It allows formatting and text styles, unlike plain text.

At the moment, I'm looking at dedicated journal programs that allow day-by-day entries. These include DavidRM's The Journal and RedNotebook. This will allow me to access specific days much faster than scrolling through a long Word document, not to mention keep every single year in one easily accessible program.

My concern is that programs created by smaller companies might eventually no longer be supported, which would mean a huge migration of data to a new and supposedly better program some time in the future. I don't want to have my data locked into one program that will eventually go poof ten years in the future, and be a pain in the ass to migrate. Or are there ways around this?

Gents, what are your thoughts and experiences?