Let's Talk Film Era 35mm Rangefinder Versus SLR Lenses

Well, I have never seen a 50mm 1.4 SLR lens as bad as my Nikkor-S 5cm 1.4 (on my Nikon S2) for landscape photos. Everything outside the middle 2/3rds is blurry.
And apparently they all do that.

You just have a defective lens. Most likely due to some DIYS repair self taught tech.

The 50/1.4 made Nikon's original reputation and sales success via the NYT and DDD.

You just have a defective lens. Most likely due to some DIYS repair self taught tech.

The 50/1.4 made Nikon's original reputation and sales success via the NYT and DDD.

Other people with the same lens have reported the same results as me. The lens is in perfect physical shape with no signs of being opened.

Most photojournalism does not rely on infinity landscape shots. It is great at close to mid range photos.
Looking at DDD's pics, they are all close to mid. And freakin amazing.

I took this with my Nikor-S 5cm 1.4, and it looks great even pixel peeping but it was at mid range-ish. Things fall apart at infinity.

Other people with the same lens have reported the same results as me. The lens is in perfect physical shape with no signs of being opened.

Most photojournalism does not rely on infinity landscape shots. It is great at close to mid range photos.
Looking at DDD's pics, they are all close to mid. And freakin amazing.

I took this with my Nikor-S 5cm 1.4, and it looks great even pixel peeping but it was at mid range-ish. Things fall apart at infinity.

If you are not getting good infinity results with that lens, you have a problem with your lens, your camera, or maybe scanning.

Post about your results in the NRF forum or NRF facebook page.

You will soon learn your results are not typical.

If you are not getting good infinity results with that lens, you have a problem with your lens, your camera, or maybe scanning.

Post about your results in the NRF forum or NRF facebook page.

You will soon learn your results are not typical.