Loosing self-identity with digital photography

Georgiy Romanov

stray cat
Local time
4:32 AM
Hello friends! I started to get involved in film photography when the world switched to digital technology in 2010. Never shooting on film before, only digital. I especially liked the monochrome photography. After five years, I had already shot several thousand rolls of film, and a dark room had been assembled. I held several photo exhibitions, published a photobook. It was a very fun time.

But a lot things was changed since. From year to year I have watched how film from the instrument turn into a form of nostalgia. The film became more and more expensive but on the other side digital technology became more and more affordable. And at some point I realized that it became pointless to taking pictures on film. I speak for myself.

I like to make snapshots, I like black and white photography, I like to shoot on film, but as a photographer, I understand that the time of available film is gone. I still continue to give film cameras as presents, I still have a film to shot and I still allow myself to shot couples rolls of film per month because of a feeling of nostalgia, but it may be a feeling of confusion. I tried out digital technologies many times, but I returned to the film because I thinked that film is very natural to my nature.

As I build a career as a journalist and documentary film maker digital technology opens up new opportunities. With digital photography, I was able to work on my own social medias, my blog, writing stories with photographs and develop my audience. Previously, all this time took the film craft. But it seems to me that with a digital camera I disappeared into the stream and lose my own self-identification. It is also hard for me to part with the past, because many of my friends are inspired by my work and try to keep shoting film. But as for me the object has always been the most important element in my photography.