LTM to M mount...how does it work?

rpavich

Established
Local time
7:58 AM
I'm new to the rangefinder world, I have an Epson R-D1s that I love and I just realized that I have a jupiter 50mm lens that's just sitting in a drawer.

It's got an LTM mount and I'd like to get an M adapter to give it a whirl but I was wondering: if a lens isn't "coupled" then how does it achieve focus with a rangefinder?

There is no "coupling" between lens and camera in a rangefinder except for the rangefinder focusing cam on the back of the lens, whether LTM or M mount. Well, there is for digital Ms, but this is all you need to know right now. Get the proper LTM to M adapter and enjoy your Jupiter without any problems.

The lens should be coupled if its a Jupiter-8

The coupling action happens inside the adapter the same way it works on a screwmount body.

A cam pushes against a roller, roller transfers this movement to the Rangefinder.

For the Epson, Any old LTM-M adaptor will work as you manually select the framelines you want on top of the camera.

I think your overthinkng the problem, ive got a cheapo adapter if you want to PM me.

What Keith said. Except even an improper i.e. cheap ltm->M adapter will probably do the trick on a digital. I have a cheapo--engraved "50-57mm" instead of 50-75--but it works fine on my XE1 and A7 as well as on my M5. All other things being equal, still, a more expensive adapter is the better choice, and will let your Jupiter be a nice 75mm Sonnar on the RD.

I'm new to the rangefinder world, I have an Epson R-D1s that I love and I just realized that I have a jupiter 50mm lens that's just sitting in a drawer.

It's got an LTM mount and I'd like to get an M adapter to give it a whirl but I was wondering: if a lens isn't "coupled" then how does it achieve focus with a rangefinder?

Leica designed the "new" (read: early '50s) M mount with the ability to adapt LTM lenses in mind. As a result, the adapters work very well.

There are two coupling issues: