M lenses and manual focusing on the X-Pro1

kshapero

South Florida Man
Local time
5:52 PM
How is manual focusing with an M mount lens on the X-Pro1 using the optical VF? How does it work?Magnification? Is it quick? Does it have the "feel"?

I am just beginning to check this out. I can't even find out where you would even get an M adapter?

search ebay for "Kipon adapter"
there is no focus assist or confirmation in the OVF, you would need to use the EVF. Unless you're happy with hyperfocal, zone focusing or simply eyeballing the distance.

search ebay for "Kipon adapter"
there is no focus assist or confirmation in the OVF, you would need to use the EVF. Unless you're happy with hyperfocal, zone focusing or simply eyeballing the distance.
thx, scratch off the X-pro1 for me.

Many M lenses are proving not to work well on the X-Pro 1 anyway. Definitely a case where you want to know what you are getting in to...

You know backwards compatibility was also something I wanted in Nikon's digital. I found the APS-C bodies really annoyed me with manual glass. Especially with the dinky little indicator they give you as a "rangefinder." I've come to the conclusion that autofocus cameras are intended to be used as autofocus cameras just as cameras with one million factory settings are intended to be used in Night mode, sport mode, etc. If a automated camera were intended to be used manualy it would have a shutter speed dial, aperature rings, and a usuable depth of scale indicator. Modern Nikon's don't, and neither to do Cannons....

The x-1 pro ticks some of those manual boxes, but not all. Seems like a pretty much dedicated autofocus camera, not that one can't master it.

With the X-1 Pro I could see why one wants to use M lenes, but the Fuji lenses seem quite nice with more on the way. Why not just use the camera as intended and wait to see if Fuji address the issues with their own adapter and firmware?