Monochrom owners- How do you prepare your files for printing?

Merkin

For the Weekend
Local time
8:35 PM
I'm going to be purchasing a Monochrom soon, and I am curious what steps you take in getting your files ready to be sent to the printers in order to get the best results from your prints. I know to expose for the highlights since so much can be recovered from the shadows and so little can be recovered from highlights, but since the Monochrom is such a novel camera compared to all of the other digital cameras out there, I am wondering what tips and tricks you might have for getting the best out of the files.

Thanks!

I'm not an expert printing MM files. I don't print often, so a dedicated home set up for bw printing doesn't make sense. If you want professional quality big prints that push what is possible with MM files you are talking $$$ per print from pro-lab.

I guess one of the most accomplished printers of MM files on RFF is Cal (aka Calzone). He gave a presentation of his prints, various sizes and processing, toning, different papers at the ICP. Stunning results. I am not sure what he is willing to share of his experiences. As he has a quad tone ink set-up you will be able to get the same results only with the same set up. So general guidance might be very valuable but you won't get a match of his prints. Of course the result starts with the exposure and a lot can be optimized with yellow filters. Heliopan seem best suited for the MM sensor. The more you can expose to the right w/o blowing the highlights the better. So the shadows will have more detail to begin with and don't need to be pushed in post processing.

Thanks for the response, icebear :)

I should have been a bit more specific- I am talking about prepping the files to be sent to the lab for printing, not for home printing. I've landed a gig where some professional printing will be involved.