New Kindermann Stainless Steel Tanks

LeicaVirgin1

Established
Local time
3:54 PM
Dear Tom,

I know you are a fan of Kindermann. I am looking into getting a stainless steel tank set-up. People say invest in new HEWES Reels and a Kindermann Stainless Steel Tank. I've looked online and only found a used one on ebay...

Do they not make them, (Kindermann), anymore and if so where could I invest in a few? Or, is used all that's left?

Best,

LV1

I have some Kinderman tanks - but I prefer the Paterson ones. The Kinderman are slow to fill and empty. I mainly us mine for small batch developers (Delagi D8 etc). The diameter is to small using on my UniRoller - while the paterson 3 and 5 reel tanks fit on it. The stainless steel reels takes a bit to get used to - but once you mastered them - no problem. However if you drop one - it is usually game over. They do bend and once that happens - they are almost impossible to straighten out. I have little experience with the HEWE's reels in 35mm - did use some for 120 film years ago.

I've used Kinderman tanks and Hewes reels for years and have had good reliable results. I haven't found them particularly slow to fill or empty with chemistry, and certainly faster than the brand X ones that we have at the community college where I teach. The Hewes reels don't respond well to being dropped, but they do stand up well to student use.

What I've done since the 1980's as news and then wedding shooter/processing is use the less expensive stainless tanks from various asian suppliers but use them with the Kindermannn Lids instead. They are expensive but very durable and don't develop cracks in the plastic. I have many that are from when I did volume black and white for weddings and they were bought 10-15 years ago and still working perfectly.