New York November NYC Meet-Up

Pro-Mone / Cal,

When I try it I'll report...

Joe

Joe,

Hurry-up. LOL.

I can see why in 4x5 the limited volume might be a factor/handicap, but certainly with smaller sheet sizes it will likely be moot. For 2x3 it would be hard to believe that uneven development would result, especially with less volume and mucho air in the tank.

Might I suggest that when developing 4x5 that you try and leave an air gap in the tank to help with circulating and agitating the developer. This piston of air might be just enough to avoid the "Pro-Mone Effect" of uneven development and streaking.

So now my reputation as a "Lazy Slacker" expands. How did I set Joe up as my unpaid consultant and independent lab to do my work for me? "I am a clever artist," I say. LOL.

Cal

Pro-Mone,

Prior to this conversation I bid on a JOBO 3010. I had high bid, but I got outbid and the JOBO 3010 sold for $275.00. Ouch. JOBO's are not inexpensive.

As far as what has been reported and researched this Nikor tank was highly regarded and recommended. Also know that there is a modern Chinese clone of this tank being sold today because of demand. There is even a Chinese 5x7 version.

Anyways the challenge here is for me to get good results, and if I do I know it will annoy you. lol. I just bought an 8x10 Kodak Hard Rubber tank with stainless steel 4x5 film holders for $20.50. No doubt that dip and dunk will outperform a JOBO used as an inversion tank. I can set up a complete dip and dunk line for less money than a JOBO 3010 tank. The 8x10 dip and dunk tank also has a higher capacity and of course can handle 8x10.

Understand that Diafine, my "Slacker's Brew" was not highly regarded here on RFF, but I got the compensating effect to work for me.