optional EVF for NEX5N/5R/5T/F3 fragile?

kuuan

loves old lenses
Local time
6:59 AM
When the NEX5N came out I remember many voices maintaining that its optional EVF, the FDA-EV1S, sticking out like that must be extremely fragile.
Please have a look at my NEX5N:

Sony NEX5N + fragile(??) EVF
by andreas, on Flickr[/url]

a 100% crop showing the wear

I have been using this camera heavily since 6 years now and its EVF always has been mounted. I don't use a neck strap but a waist pouch into which the camera has to be a bit 'forced' in and out, I put it 'sideways' which every time puts lateral pressure on the EVF. The EVF continues to be working just as well as it did day 1!

Interestingly most of the criticism of the EVF had come right after it had come to the market, at a time nobody possibly could have had much experience with it yet. I don't say that it can't break, of course there must be some out there who did have their EVF breaking, just as there are people out there that had their camera breaking..

I believe that the harsh criticism had been a decisive factor why Sony decided to go for the mock prism design for their A7 series of cameras, rightfully figuring that this 'traditional' design is more readily accepted. Sony also never developed any new, optional EVF nor cameras that take an optional, moveable EVF again but the now also discontinued direct successors of the 5N.