Pacific Image Prime Film XA compatible w. Germany's mains voltage?

Local time
4:23 PM
Hey there,

I wanted to order a Pacific Image Prime Film XA from B&H Photo. There's a German version of it too but it's quite expensive, even after shipping and taxes.
As you probably guessed it, I live in Germany and now I wonder if when I order the scanner it's compatible with the German mains voltage of 240V. In the manual it say's it's compatible with 110-240V.
Do you think a regular Type C adapter for the socket is enough to get it running? Or would you not recommend ordering one?

Maybe someone here who lives in Germany and happens to own one can share his/her experience:)

Thank you for your help!

Hi there,

I have no experience with your specific device but if the manufacturer's electrical info says 110 - 240V then it should work. If you want to be 100% certain ask the manufacturer directly specifically if the freq. range also tolerates 50 -60Hz.

Gregor,

I am in California, and I just bought the Pacific Image XAs from Amazon and got it working this weekend. It is powered with an external pack power adapter that takes the AC wall power to some standard lower DC voltage that the scanner accepts. Yes the power adapter will directly accept 240 V and 50 Hz as input (voltage is the issue with DC adapters, not the line frequency). My model came with only the two prong ungrounded US wall plug, but of course line plug adapters from US standard to other country standards are easily available and you should be able to find one to go from USA style to German style inexpensively (on eBay, at hardware stores, etc.).

By the way, the XAs is the best 35mm film scanner I've ever used -- it's quite exceptional really. The XAs will scan one entire roll of 35mm at a time, 36-40 frames or so automatically with beautiful results. There is no hassling with film loader trays, cutting film, uncurling film, etc. etc. I think you will love it.