Problem with rear setting wheel

Ivanskavinsky

Local time
2:58 AM
Hi people, newbie here with large hole in wallet and a weird issue with new M8. Everything else seems fine so far but the rear wheel is acting up.
Every 6th click it freezes for 2 clicks, then carries on it's merry way...
I've had it for about 7 hours :mad: updated firmware straight away with no issues, problem was there before & after. Any hints, clues, advice before I take it back? Many thanks,

Ivan

Hi Ivan,

The only issue I've noted with the rear jog-wheel is that it can really cause "flickering" in the menus of the camera if you use it to change items. It can start moving the selections across a menu at a furious rate and it would appear to be going "crazy" per se.

I've since decided that the best way to select anything is by using the arrow buttons versus the jog-wheel.

To be honest, the only purpose that jog wheel seems to serve is to "zoom" in on a photo on the display - completely silly from a usability perspective imho - why create the wheel with only one function.

Don't stress it...if you can use the arrow buttons instead.

Cheers
Dave

Thanks Dave,
I also worked that out. I'm conditioned from over a decade of Canon EOS to use the wheel I guess. As you say it actually does next to nothing...
Makes a mockery of the self important "This Leica product was meticulously examined by" statement though.

Even if it never turns out to be any more than this, it's not a good way to start with a new product that carries such a price tag & leaves me a bit nervous about what may come next...

All that said, it still feels great, the viewfinder is lovely and it's a joy to be using a digital M.

Happy but grumbling,
Ivan