Rolleiflex TLR blur caused by shutter release issue

doctorpepe

Local time
5:41 PM
Seeking input on a shutter release issue with all my rolleiflex TLRs.

I am a seasoned photographer (over 50 yrs) having owned MANY different cameras. I am very steady with most and can hand hold down to 1/5 sec in most conditions without tremors even in my late 60’s. My steadiness/ability is enhanced by using cameras with a shutter release that is short-throw, even my 120 SLRs.

My Rollei TLRs all have a release that seems very “long” so that when I squeeze the release, the shutter won’t fire until it reaches the very end of the “press” and this process results in a small “jerk” with an accompanying image blur.

I have tried multiple hand positions using index finger, middle finger, thumb all with this same dilemma whether at waist-level or eye level. . All Rolleis have been expertly serviced and the releases are smooth without a catch, just very long in comparison with other cameras. I have added soft releases, other implements with same results.

As it seems to be a long shutter release throw issue, I thought about having the release modified to have a shorter throw (much like having a “hair trigger” on a pistol) but did not know if anyone else has this issue or tried another modification. One such thought was to add a short pin into the cable socket so that the shutter release would be in a “1/2” fired position, but haven’t tried this yet.

Opinions requested and valued. Thanx in advance.

First of all I'm a night shooter - especially with my Rolleiflexes - like you I have very steady hands and could shoot down to 1s Handheld when kneeling or supporting myself otherwise - now that's probably down to a still-respectable 1/4th of a second.