Sample pics, fresh out of the scanner!

POSTI-Tuomo

Level 1 Camera Repairman
Local time
1:25 AM
So, I finally got my Espon V700 Flatbed and here are the results!

The camera: Zeiss Ikon Nettar 517/16

The film: Ilford Delta 100

No post processing save for resizing...

I am still learning the ways of scanning, any advice will be taken happily!

reflection.jpg

flag.jpg

Thanks for the compliment, fidget! I am still a bit at loss as to scanning resolution. I'm not sure how to approach the mounting task of scanning all those negatives. Should I make a rough scan of every negative I have, and if I decided to make a print then scan at high res? This will save time, but requires a filing system for my negatives. How have you solved this?

It's a great scanner, isn't it? I'm still really impressed with mine from 35mm negatives. As for resolution, that depends on what you want to do with them. You can scan a contact sheet using the film area guide (attached). Scan this at 300dpi and you can print it 10x8 on plain paper or view it at 100% on screen to decide which frames you want. I find this seriously useful! I can then scan the selected frames at the resolution which will give me the print size I want at 300dpi (so a 12x8' print requires 2400dpi). I'd rather store negatives than data.

PS: your scans are excellent.

Attachments

• contact050707.jpg
    contact050707.jpg
    95.9 KB · Views: 0
Last edited:
Mark, it looks like your way is the way to go. No need to scan every negative, as there are many 'duds' amongst keepers I reckon... I need to buy neg sleeves, methinks. Having every single neg on my HD means a lot of wasted space, not to mention the time needed to scan full 24 frames at high res. Thank you for your advice!