Scanning options and when to go for which?

stephen_lumsden

Well-known
Local time
12:32 PM
I am currently using a lab Silverpan in UK to dev and scan my photos. I have a subscription of £45 for a dev/scan of 3 rolls a month and am quite satisfied with the results. I generally just get them developed in Xtol or Rhodinal at the moment though the lab does give you the choice for others. On average I can go through 4 films, so sometime drop off the excess ones to Take It Easy lab in Leeds (usually the stuff which I think can be done a bit cheaper, e.g. C41 ). All in all I guess I spend about £1000 on film and dev/scan per year.

I have just come back to film photography over the last year and had decided to go down this route and pay per month just in case my renewed interest was just a fad. I had a 35mm Minolta Dimage scanner about 15 years ago which I could not get sharp scans from and gave up. Now the dev/scan services with delivery via Dropbox is quite convenient.

I was thinking about just taking the hit and going up to the Gold subscription with Silverpan (£65/month for 4 hi res tiff scans with some free prints and option for a quasi drum re-scan on some shots). I bought a pixl-latr to scan photos with my FZ1000ii (with DCR-250 macro attachment) which should work in principle and will use this for old negatives at least (I shoot 35mm and 6*6 going to a max of 10*10 inches prints ). I am thinking this may be a bit work intensive and that may make things a bit of a chore (I really do not do much post processing, use Painshop Pro to touch up mainly black and white and thats it) and that may kill my enthusiasm.

Alternatively I could get a v850, but have bad memories of the old scanner I used to have and what a waste that was. It also takes up a lot of space.

I reckon I could save about £360 a year though doing scanning myself at home. That said it would take some investment and/or time up front.

My question is then: