Setting up my own darkroom for B/W prints

Morca007

Matt
Local time
5:58 PM
I'm finally going to make the jump to film only, and since there aren't any good labs around here (also since film developing is pretty expensive for a student), I want to set up my own darkroom to develop black and white prints.
I found these guides to work from:
Darkroom
Developing

I've never done any film developing before, so, does anyone have some tips?
Also, anyone care to reccomend a kit?

Thanks

*And in the right section this time, too. ;)

You're a student... Can you take a B+W class?
That's not the route I took, but if I did it again I would. Here's why.
Developing and printing is definitely not for everyone; I eventually took a certificate course, half of which was B+W. To my knowlege I'm the only one of about 30 students still haanging out in the darkroom.
I started out when I was basically given a nearly complete setup; developing tanks and reels, enarger, timer, all that stuff. So I set it up and started fooking with it. First I developed some film and used a film scanner, photoshop and inkjet printer. Later I tried out the enlarger and made a few wet prints, all from reading old books and online resources for instructions and troubleshooting.
It was image quality that made me stick with the darkroom and still is, though the difference is shrinking.
After that I took the course, and learned a bit more from watching experienced hands at work.
Life in the darkroom isn't that cheap and is very, very time consuming. You'll eventually want to work with fiber paper and toning and all that business, and I figure I have to spend 8 hours in the darkroom to make 5 really nice copies of a single image.
I'm a slow printer, but not that slow.
You'll probably never print a whole roll of film, it just takes too long; going to the store and getting 24 prints back from a roll of film is just not how life in the dark works.
What ever you choose to do, enjoy, be creative.