Split grade printing. Useful?

fidget

Lemon magnet
Local time
8:13 PM
I am a relative beginner in the darkroom, I'm getting a little better at visualising and then putting together what I want in my prints (it's a learning curve which operates bit by bit, but is very satisfying).
I wondered about split grade printing and have read several posts and articles about it, these sometimes contradict each other. For example, I read that any split grade exposure can be replaced by an appropriate other single grade exposure. I can understand this, I guess that this would use the average.
OTOH, I read with interest how, for example, weak highlights can be teased out of a poor neg at the lowest grade, for fairly long exposures, then a high grade used to build in the shadows and mid tones. I can understand this too!
I am not trying to compare or confuse this with good dodging and burning techniques, some negs area little too complicated for dodging and burning fine detail.
Is there a simple routine that I might use to try this out?
Is it useful?

Dave

I think that what's really being said is that not every print needs to be split-filtered. There are some that will print fine with a single filter, exposed once, with dodging and burning. Having said that, a friend of mine who is a fine printer split filters all the time, because he can sometimes get more highlight detail out of it, and has more control over the intensity of the shadows. He just figures that if some don't need it, but some do, he might as well do it all the time.

allan

I should add that as a beginner, I get a good proportion of thin, high contrast negs that might benefit from a little split grade printing.
My guess is that a single grade exposure might not expose the highlights enough, due to the property of the paper which tolerates some exposure before any actual change takes place, so needing a pre-flashing type of remedy, is that what this is?

Fidget,