The only constant is change.

FrankS

Local time
2:27 AM
I once was a dedicated film photographer, at the evangelist level, I'll admit. I joined the university darkroom group and learned how to develop and print B+W about 50 years ago. Once I got settled into family life with a house, I took over a spare bedroom next to the washroom and plumbed in a darkroom sink and developed and printed B+W at home for many years. I was a weekend warrior photographer doing weddings and family portraits while supporting my family with my full time job.

Then digital came along. Oh, I resisted for several years and continued shooting film with great, classic film cameras, mainly Nikon, Leica, and Hasselblad. Eventually I gave digital a try and, while still being happy with the images I was making, and appreciating the ease with which I could share images on the internet including here on RFF, the digital process did not provide me with the same satisfaction of darkroom printing. With great effort comes great satisfaction. However, I could not rationalize this great effort when the digital alternative was so easy and fast. It was a catch 22 situation.

Because of this conflict, my love of photography faded. I am still very satisfied with the images themselves, but now almost exclusively use my cell phone. My free time hobbies drifted towards home stereo and vintage motorcycles. I came back to RFF where I was once very active, after a recent chat with an old RFF friend who mentioned RFF.

Here's a cell phone pic I took in New Mexico while on a motorcycle trip around the US some years ago, and a pic with a Rolleiflex TLR in Texas.

Attachments

• IMG_2531.JPG
    IMG_2531.JPG
    337.7 KB · Views: 7
  • IMG_0812.JPG
    IMG_0812.JPG
    450.9 KB · Views: 7
I agree with your basic premise, but my life's path in photography has been somewhat, well, opposite to yours .