Votes: 5 1.3%
  • No, never.

Votes: 107 28.1%

• Total voters

kshapero

South Florida Man
Local time
10:22 AM
There have been times when I wished I had a tripod. Any thoughts on this? Which ones? If at all.

I voted for never, but almost never (0.5%) is closer to the truth. When I use one with a rangefinder, it's a bogen table top with a little ball head. It works well, but I usually just rest the camera on tables, mailboxes or anything else that happens to be around.

I love my support system, particularly for the 135mm Tele-Elmar. I use a Gitzo G-1228 with a small Linhof ballhead. Great combo!

I use a tripod but also a monopod.
To be honest the monopod gets used more than the tripod.

I don't for RF's, but I use mono's when I shoot sports with my SLR's.
I started shooting with range finders for the freedom that they could provide me to not have to worry about tripods. When I travel i don't take anything larger than a table top tripod, -Just in case.
Realisticaly, if you think you might need one, its better to have it and not use it, than to need it and not have it.
Last April, I brought a medium sized tripod to the UK. I was there for ten days, never used it. Of course I made my wife lug it around :) while i shot.

In one of his earliest books John Shaw has examples of the same scene shot with and without a tripod. Viewed small, they look kind of similar but when sections are enlarged the difference is clear and startling.

I have a variety of tripods and use one whenever I can unless I'm using high shutter speeds or am in an action situation that precludes it.

For Fall color this year ~85% of my shots were on my Uniloc.

Simply put, I've got some fine glass and using a 'pod give me confidence that I'll get the absolute best out of it. In fact, if you read Erwin Puts, he makes a point about doing "careful work" in order to get the best out of optics.