Yashica LTM Was it a Yashica?

Yashica M39 M39 screw mount bodies/lenses

Dralowid

Michael
Local time
7:21 PM
I can't remember....

As a student I had a camera that looked a little like an 'M', was an interchangeable ltm and had a flap on the back that opened like an 'M'.

I remember quite a good viewfinder/rangefinder. Lens had quite a wide aperture. Whole thing felt much more modern than my Leica III.

It wasn't expensive...am I right in thinking it might have been a Yashica?

I swapped it for a collapsible Summicron.

Michael

A great camera. Very smooth, and with frame lines much like an M3. Here in Japan the YF is a desirable and rather expensive camera. The Nicca 3L version is even more desirable, and clean models sell for as much as an M3.

Many years ago, a local dealer had one of these. It was in his window for months, probably more than a year. The price was very keen and I kept thinking about it, thinking about it, thinking about it...

Needless to say, when I finally made my mind up and went in with my card in my sweaty paw, he told me he'd sold it just that week.

I keep telling myself that I don't mind.

:bang:

I found one in a Goodwill store. It had a very hazy Canon 50/1.8, the film spool support stud was missing, and someone ran a fingernail along the shutter. I cleaned the lens, made a temporary replacement for the spool stud, and sealed the shutter with some fabric paint. It's got some film transport issues that may or may not be related to the spool support, and somehow I lost the film loading instruction placard in the bottom of the camera. So when I finally save up some money, I'll be sending it in for an overhaul. I never got through a whole roll of film without it malfunctioning, but what I did get was very nice.

PF