Which Leica for me?

rugyboogie

Local time
6:41 AM
Hey There

This is my first post here on RFF, please do not flame me.

Having been into photography since the mid 70s and having owned several 35MM cameras I am looking for a change to digital.
I am a General Contractor and we use small point and shoot digital's on the sites.
Several years ago I build a photo-studio for a client who became a friend.
His photos impressed me, asked what he uses for cameras.
Nikon , Canon and Leica.
He said that the Leica was his fav by a lot, showed me pictures of both formats, differences were clearly visible on the large photos.
So Leica it will be.
Now for me a new M9 is a stretch.
The M8 is a little easier on the wallet......BUT I only want to do this once and not have to worry about the "I wish I would have" syndrome.
A NOS for the M8 at around 3k vs new M9 at over 7K .
Is the 9 worth the extra change?
Once the decision is made on the camera then its on to the lenses. No lenses , so I will have to take a shovel to the wallet to get started.
One shovel at a time, so first the body.
Thank you for your time,
Rugy

Definitely the M9 is worth it, it's a different level, and with it you wouldn't worry about buying another one for many years, because it's a real M Leica: its sensor size allows you to use Leica lenses with their real focal length... And file sizes and consequent native sharpness are higher of course... It's expensive but it's one of a kind... You can get similar results from a lot cheaper DSLRs, but they're a lot bigger, and Leica wideangle lenses are better...

Cheers,

Juan

If you have the money to spare it is probably worth it. If you don't then the M8 (one that works properly) is a good option. If using a rangefinder is what you enjoy then anything else is a distant second...