Which Lens cap for f2.8 Zeis Ikon 35mm Biogon

galleryg

Local time
6:38 PM
Just trying to save some search time. I have yet to find out after hours of searching, Lens cap sizes for the f2.8 35mm Biogon (post war) and also the f1.5 post war 50mm Sonnar. Thanks in advance.

I am still new to the whole RF thing. Ask me anything about Hasselblads/Rolleis and I got that commited to memory byt the maze that is vintage Contax is sometimes bewildering...

Just trying to save some search time. I have yet to find out after hours of searching, Lens cap sizes for the f2.8 35mm Biogon (post war) and also the f1.5 post war 50mm Sonnar. Thanks in advance.

I am still new to the whole RF thing. Ask me anything about Hasselblads/Rolleis and I got that commited to memory byt the maze that is vintage Contax is sometimes bewildering...

The Sonnar and Biogon and in fact most Contax lenses with a few notable exceptions take the same size of lens-cap & filters: 40.5mm.

It's probably best to buy a couple of plastic 40.5mm snap on lens caps from Amazon or somewheres. They're cheap so it's probably a good idea to buy some spares if you misplace one.

Something like this:
https://www.amazon.com/B01IBCBMXW/

The lens cap for the Zeiss Opton 35mm Biogon f 2.8 was a metal shallow lens cap with an internal diameter of around 42.2 mm, so in reality any soft plastic lens cap that fits on the outside rim of the very common FSU Jupiter 8 or Industar 61 l/d lens can be used as a cheap to buy and readily available alternative.

but be warned that not all 42mm external size slip-on lens caps mean a 40.5mm screw-in one, nor a filter either as some take 39mm filters and caps. I don't know why but it can catch you out, as it did me, once. I have wondered if it's a pre- and post-war thing but have no literature for the more modern ones.

Regards, David