X-pro 1 + all lenses.. first impressions

anorphirith

Established
Local time
12:25 AM
So after reading on this forum and a few other about the Xpro1, I've traded all my canon gear for the Xpro1 with all 3 primes (I had a 5D2 135mm2L 28-75mm2.8 50mm1.4 17-40mm4L)

The main reason for the switch is because I'm traveling a lot, and I've become really tired of hauling all my lenses and heavy 5d2 around, another reason is that I've been using the 5d2 for 3 years, I was ready to switch but the 5d3 was a huge disappointment for me and the D800E was nowhere to be found.
Also I"ve used a X100 last summer and absolutely loved the results compared to my 5d2
so anyway I finally got my xpro1.

First impressions:

Lenses:
The lenses are VERY light, even though they are metal construction. They are also very easy to handle and very well made. Tt's a big change coming from canon lenses I never really felt metal.
All the lenses seems to be very sharp from the large opening, which is to be expected for 600$ crop lenses... I had some apprehension on the 18mm but it also turned out to be sharp from my limited use.
The only issue I encountered was the 60mm lens hood, it's made of metal and when I attach it to the lens in "carrying position" I need to be VERY careful so the lens does not touch the hood and chips the black paint, the interior of the hood should be covered of black suede, instead of raw metal.

Focusing:
I tried it in the store before buying the camera, it seemed to work well under relatively well lit environment. but after I actually bought the camera and used it in real situations, things got ...different.
let's just say there is a learning curve to get sharp images.
the 60mm focus is very very slow, it's actually weird to try and get portraits with it. my subjects have to wait ~5 seconds in front of the camera just for the lens to focus, and most of the time I need to re focus. I might have lost the shiny eyes people have when I take the first picture of them

Battery