XTOL Mishap

AlexMogens

Established
Local time
10:31 PM
1. I mixed up 5 liters of XTOL. I've never used it before.
2. I put two rolls of Catlabs 320 MF film on reels and put them into a Patterson tank.
3. Following the Massive Dev Chart suggestion (I use their iPhone app), I poured 1:1 dilution of Xtol in and processed for 11 minutes.
4. Stop bath for a minute
5. Fixer for 5 minutes
6. Hypo and then rinse for about 12 minutes

And I was graced with completely blank rolls of film, no wording in the rebates, completely clear.... as if I'd done the Fixer first. (I've made that mistake before and have been absolutely sure not to since).

Perplexed, I went to the Catlabs site and found that they recommended 11 minutes with XTOL with the stock solution, not the 1:1 dilution.

So I wanted to check my interpretation of what happened with the cognoscenti here at ranfinderforum: The film was under developed (due to getting bad info from massive dev chart) and being under developed, the negatives were basically erased by the fixer.

And, I suppose, just how trustworthy is Massive Dev Chart?

It was a Rolleiflex 3.5e2. I've used it successfully within the past month, so I don't think it's having any issues. In any case, if it were a camera issue, I think there would have been writing along the rebate.

I agree- if the developer is good you would get very underdeveloped negatives but still something. I wonder about the developer though. Kodak outsourced the production of xtol to a company called Sino promise, and they did such a great job they have gone bankrupt. There are actually reports that their QC on xtol in particular was lacking and they sold some bad batches. I’d check the developer with a clip test- even using a leader that should be super dense when processed. That way you can rule out the developer as an issue.

For xtol- I have used the legacy ecopro knockoff. It has always worked great.

Camera wouldn’t cause the edge markings to absent.