Your darkroom philosophy

wontonny

Well-known
Local time
6:13 AM
What is your philosophy behind why you still make darkroom hand prints in this digital day and age? I'm not condoning it, I'm a student in high school and when I talk to adults about how I shoot almost 90% film because I strongly dislike digital, they are very surprised. What are your reasons? Even the most minute reasons.

There are a handful of reasons, but the biggest one is image quality. As of 3 years ago, I took some classes at the local University and played with the best... there was nothing then to compete with wet materials and medium format B+W film. At any price, let alone within my means.
Next is equipment. Modern cameras give me fits!
Then there is some natural attraction I have for obsolete technology...
I also like the process, though it is so time consuming that I know I could be more productive.
I could switch over someday, but more progress will have to be made in printing and scanning technology, and the price will have to drop.
Since many of my images require long time exposures, film is necessary still.

I wrote this in another darkroom post:

"For me printing is the root of the process and it helps keep me grounded in what i do. I seem to spend a lot of time in Bangkok scanning, captioning and cloning out dust on neg scans. Back in the UK i can concentrate on making prints and seeing results that for me have a much greater longevity. It is however a very long and expensive process that requires a great of deal of patience on my part. Fortunately i keep detailed notes to short cut some of the leg work but as papers and emulsions change i'm constantly adjusting and rewriting my print notes. I also find it helps to concentrate my thoughts about my work unlike my time spent on my computer....which gives me a head and neck ache...."

Having thought about it a bit more: