Carl Zeiss LTM Zeiss 50mm 1.5 Sonnar LTM

Carl Zeiss M39 lenses

Mjd-djm

Established
Local time
1:16 AM
I’ve not heard much about this lens in LTM but I know there are lots of fakes around. I’ve come across quite a nice looking example which is very clean but could possibly be a fake. Anyway there are no past sales on eBay UK so I was wondering how much a genuine copy and a fake copy are worth nowadays?

I'm pretty sure there are numerous threads here on RFF about these lenses. Perhaps no recent valuations though.

I am NOT an expert, but I've read through many of those threads, especially when I was considering getting one of these lenses (I ended up with a decent J-3). From my limited knowledge, this looks like a conversion lens. Not necessarily fake -- I think it looks like a Contax mount lens that was fit in an LTM lens mount. To me, that means the lens could be a wonderful fun user, but not a collectible lens with any value that might be attached to that. In short, if you want a sonnar to use and love, this might be a great lens as long as the price is not attempting to reflect collecter value. What that price should be?........Any guesses folks?

I am not an expert, but I think those “ears” may be an indication of a Jupiter?

This might help: http://www.klassik-cameras.de/Zeiss_Fakes.html

Hi Larry

I tend to disagree. There is a (admittedly older) thread here at RFF which suggests exactly the opposite: https://www.rangefinderforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=51692&page=16

Overall it seems quite difficult to judge whether a specific lens is genuine Zeiss Jena or fake / Russian. There are some indicators (serial number, lettering, decimal indicators, m instead of M, more brownish coating color (CZJ) than blueish (Russian)), none of which are really fully reliable, if I understood correctly.