Leotax LTM Leotax - surprised by high quality

Leotax M39 screw mount bodies

fotobiblios

Established
Local time
11:06 PM
I've acquired 2 Leotaxes and have been very impressed with these 50 yr old instruments.

Maybe I struck lucky, but these have had no recent service yet both work perfectly, all chrome, nickel and leather(ette?) without blemish, all actions super smooth.

I'm no Leica expert and have never owned one, but the post-war screw mount Leicas I have handled have been lovely instruments but far from free from blemishes.

I got the 2 Leotaxes from different continents. both have slow speeds and the film reminder on wind-on knob, both have very solid cast bodies and a one-piece (pressed?) top/front. one has speeds to 1/500th and the other to 1/1000th. both have numbers 251xxx. both say Leotax, Leotax Camera Co Ltd and seem to have no model id.

Why did I get them? -- chasing Konica lenses - one was fitted with the collapsible Hexar 50mm f3.5, the other with the Hexanon 50 f1.9 -- seems these lenses sell for less when fitted to the wonderful Leotax than when sold alone. By the way the lenses are well made -- especially the 50mm f1.9 smooth as silk, excellent machining and plating, however, I've not tested them yet. Googling Leotax, seems to get references to such lenses as Topcon and Fujinon being fitted (both excellent, I hear) but not Konishiroku/Konica which were also sold separately and with the Chiyoda (sp?).

Any info welcome

fotobiblios (Danny, Sheffield, UK)

The hexar is similar optically and mechanically to the elmar or industar (ie 3 group, 4 element tessar - type), (this is the most common of all optical designs)but when you get down to detail it depends on positioning of diaphragm, quality of manufacture, tolerances and coating type as to what the results would be. (Price also depends on rarity and peceived desirability). There are plenty of Hexars built into konica cameras or other optical equipment, but the Leica thread mount is rare(ish).