A camera that was used in the Manhattan Project (Atomic Bomb Drop on Nagasaki)

raid

Dad Photographer
Local time
9:57 PM
Some of you may know that I have an old 8x10 [or is it a 10x10 camera?] camera with a huge 362mm 1.66 lens. I have been researching its history for about 15 years by now. I can see from the brass plate on it that it was used at the Philadelphia Naval Yard.

The camera comes with three lenses:

1. Kodak Ektar 362mm f1.66
2. Bausch & Lomb 14.5 inch f2.2 (I have two of them)

There are no serial numbers on the lenses, suggesting that these were custom made by Kodak for the "cause".

This system is referred to as "Lenticular":

I have at least one earlier thread on this camera, but I did only find out this morning what it really was used for.

link: http://photo.net/large-format-photography-forum/007l93

With some help from several people online, I finally learned that this was one of the first 3D cameras [TRIVISION] that were invented by Douglas Winnek.

link: http://www.lenstar.org/history/ch3b.htm

Kelly is Winnek's daughter [actually, Kelly is his son]My Dad's diary reflects that your camera was assigned to US Navy Commander Frederick Ashworth who was the lead atomic weaponeer on the Army Air Corp's B-29 bomber, "Bockscar", that dropped the "Fat Man" atomic weapon on Nagasaki on 9 Aug 1945. Take good care of it and enjoy owning a piece of history

I may want to donate this camera to a National museum where people can enjoy seeing the camera. I initially considered donating the camera to the Physics Department at my university, but it looks as if its historical value overshadows its role as an optic display for students to look at.

What do you think about it!

Attachments

• Fat Boy Camera.jpg
    Fat Boy Camera.jpg
    78.2 KB · Views: 0
  • Fat Boy Camera 2.jpg
    Fat Boy Camera 2.jpg
    76.9 KB · Views: 0
Last edited: