50mm/2.0 Ultron with M8

raid

Dad Photographer
Local time
4:50 AM
I have been using for many years a Voigtlaender Prominent 1 with 2 lenses, including the Nokton 50mm/1.5. This lens has a good reputation for being a great lens overall, so at one stage I asked Amedeo to work on an adapter Prominent-M for me, and he delivered. His work is awesome, as you know well. He told me that his adapter works only correctly on the 50mm lens. The Prominent camera is known to first class in craftmanship and "last class" in user friendliness. Having the M adapter opened up a new world of photography for me with the original Nokton.
This is an example from the Nokton:

Prominent%201-X3.jpg

Recently I noticed the existence of a 50/2 Ultron for the Prominent, and since it was a 50 mm lens, Amedeo's adapter should wotk there too. The CV ULtron 35/1.7 seems to be very popular, and I got the idea to buy the Ultron 50/2. I found one with the Prominent 1 for a good price, and I bought it.

I tried this lens out this morning on my M8.

ultron_M8-X3.jpg

Here are some results:

link: https://raid.smugmug.com/5020-Ultron-M8/

ultron%20%284%20of%2037%29-X3.jpg

ultron%20%2826%20of%2037%29-X3.jpg

ultron%20%286%20of%2037%29-X3.jpg

ultron%20%2810%20of%2037%29-X3.jpg

ultron%20%2814%20of%2037%29-X3.jpg

ultron%20%282%20of%2037%29-X3.jpg

ultron%20%2828%20of%2037%29-X3.jpg

I paid $200 for the Ultron plus Prominent 1. The lens is very heavy and feels extremely well built. It looks like new regarding its glass and appearance. Most likely, it is better built than a comparable Leica 50mm lens.

It is a low cost purchase of a first quality normal lens. The adapter‘s cost must be added to cost of lens. Still, you get a really nice lens in the end. Make sure that adapter allows RF focusing.

Beautiful photographs with a beautiful lens. How is Amedeo doing right now with Venezuela so messed up? Aren't the Prominent lenses slightly uniquely keyed (Voigtlander vs. Kodak key) DKL lenses?