A really tough decision....

pevelg

Well-known
Local time
3:02 AM
I have started some threads about my recent foray into the darkroom world. What started as a Saturday photography class is starting to grow into hours spent researching enlargers and scanning local ads for darkroom equipment. I just love the process!!! Doing test strips, playing with contrast control, working in a dimly lit room, and that magical transformation of a white sheet into a gorgeous image.... THAT is what photography is about!!!

About three years ago (maybe two), I had a Hasselblad 500c/m which I used for a short while, experimenting with the 6x6 format. I found focusing hard with the dim ground glass and as lab development was expensive and I was a penniless student, the several rolls of film I used only got developed; never scanned or printed. Based on the negatives, I was unimpressed when comparing them to Mamiya 7 slides. The camera left my custody to a lucky RF member.

Now, several years later, I dug up the negatives and took them to the school darkroom. I had forgotten that the film was C41 and ended up having to print at 4 grade contrast for most of the photos to get a decent black. Anyways, the contact sheets, though dim, had some great photos on them. Here are two that really stood out for me....

4990326872_f245087e40_o.jpg

4990326906_553f4f3aa2_o.jpg

I know a digital capture (M8) does not do justice to the prints.... I just am absolutely in love with the results and the process behind getting the results. Does that mean a Hassy is once again in my future? Not really. The Mamiya 7ii is a great camera and will suffice for now, especially once I get the 50mm lens.

The greater question is this. What about my Leica M8? Do I keep her? Here is a brief five year "photographic history:"

1. Borrow dads FED 5 and enter into RF photography.
2. Buy Zorki 4k and assorted lenses and really start learning.
3. Buy Bessa R4M after Zorki started dying, sell Zorki