For the die hard M8 fans

I could not afford it new so I got one 5 or 6 years after it was released. Buying one today definitely poses a longevity issue and Leica stopped repairing M8s for a while now. I could be wrong but it seems like there are more issues with the M9 than the M8.

I follow that YT channel of Hugo because I too use and own an M8 today and he appears so happy with his gear!

I seriously doubt that M9 has more issues than M8. Once sensor is replaced they keep going. Also, where did you get the information that Leica stopped servicing M8s? This doesn't sound right. However it will probably cost more to repair one than buying another copy.

I have been using an M8 and M9 for several years as my main cameras. I had two sensor replacements for the M9 and a hot pixels repair for the M8. I use mainly ISO 160 with both cameras.

Is the M8 still being used because it has die hard fans or just because it is the cheapest digital Leica rangefinder? (and yes, I have owned and used the M8...various time).

I use my M8 because it is a good camera. It is a digital Leica that works well side by side with the M9. Most of the time I use a 50mm lens with the M8 while the M9 is used with wider lenses.

I use my M8 because it is a good camera. It is a digital Leica that works well side by side with the M9. Most of the time I use a 50mm lens with the M8 while the M9 is used with wider lenses.

Right, but you've been using it for 12 years! I'm talking about new die hard fans. :)