Is the Leica obsession a fetish?

mgrinnan

Local time
11:40 PM
HNY everyone

Over the course of 2015 I acquired a couple of Leica lenses and an M3, all of which I use and enjoy. Yet since obtaining these tools, I've also developed a strange obsession with other lenses, bodies, etc. The 28mm summicron ASPH, the noctilux, the M-240, etc. Although an objectively low-earning type, I could probably afford buy an M6 and a 35mm lens, or whatever, which I would also use and enjoy. But my real question is whether or not the fixation on Leica merch and glass, tools if you will, is a fetish.

Does anybody else spend large amounts of time looking at pictures of cameras and lenses that they'll probably never buy, even if they could? Is it a fetish? When I was a mechanic, I remember snap-on tools had a huge pull, but for whatever reason, maybe the marketing/ad dept, they never captivated my desire and imagination to such a profound level.

While I must say these tools have fostered a newfound interest (and ability to pursue) in composition, the darkroom, B+W photography, and I have educated myself the best I know how, something about the desire for more gear and the fascination with expensive glass feels oddly perverse. Sometimes you're up at four AM and reading Overgaard or looking at the classifieds here and it just feels a little off.

In any case RFF is great and it's always good to see everybody's pics, and everyone on here has been extremely generous with feedback and help whenever I've had a question.

Godspeed

If it involves sexual desire then its a fetish. If not, then its just obsession.

In African mythology (from where this word originates) fetish has no sexual context....as far as I know....but probably sexual desire is better than substituting it with acquiring material objects!

My understanding is that if you use a feather it is erotism. If you use the whole chicken, it is a fetish.