Leica, not in Disney World

John Rountree

Nothing is what I want
Local time
9:50 PM
I just returned from a trip to Disney World with the grandchildren. As they say: Priceless! We were were there for three days. I had my M7 w/Rokkor 40. I didn't notice another M Leica the whole time we were there. And mine drew no attention, zero. What I did see were lots of little Lumix P&S cameras. The Digital Rebel out numbered the Nikon DXXX about 10 to 1! Though I love my Leica, just like Disney World, it seems quite dated.

Last edited:
We are in our little bubble here on RFF. It's tough finding even film cameras

When I went to Rome in 2008, I lamented a lack of rangefinders. I took an Alaskan cruise last year and saw a handful of film cameras. One Hassey and a few film SLRs. No rangefinders.

What's a Rangefinder? Some kind of new imaging technology?
Is it better than Digital? :rolleyes:

And mine drew no attention, zero.

Sorry, this just stood out to me. I'm pretty new to using 'dated' cameras, but do Leica users usually look for people staring at their cameras? That's interesting, too, because I know a lot of people who get the latest "Nikon DXXX" so people will look at/notice/talk to them. Maybe it works both ways then?

koniczech

Besides a LHSA convention, by FAR I've seen the most rangefinder Leicas at the Getty Center in Los Angeles. Numerous Leicas (relatively speaking) and MANY Holgas.

I was asked by an older gentleman last year if my Bessa R was a Leica! I told him no, but I did say it was a Voigtlander to make it sound more German.;)

I just got back from Hong Kong where I was running around every day with a Contax IIa usually with a Contax Turret finder mounted on it. It got more than a few curious stares, and man did I feel like a dinosaur with all the latest digital SLR's in play around me there. I don't care though - I'm 100% film all the way (and always will be).