Leica Q2, SL2-S, or Canon R5?

giganova

Well-known
Local time
8:04 PM
I am finally ready to leave my decades of film photography with M cameras behind ... and jump into digital photography! 😃

So I rented a Canon R5 and went to my local Leica store to check out the SL2-S and Q2. All three are fabulous cameras, can't go wrong with any of them. But I am having a hard time deciding and was hoping you could weigh in. I am a documentary photographer with lots of travel, mostly documenting "the human condition" (whatever that means). I prefer a fixed 35mm-ish fixed lens and have no need for a zoom lens. I shoot almost everything in aperture priority, occasionally in P mode when I need to "point & shoot" due to lack of time when things are evolving fast in front of my camera.