M8 still worth it in 2018?

glmm2001

Local time
2:16 PM
After years of using bulky DSLR cameras (my current camera is a EOS 7D MkII with all bells and whistles and before that several mid range Canon DSLRs) and giving a try to a film Leica, I was thinking of moving into a digital M Leica. After a few weeks checking the online market, I have found several M8s in the 1300/1400€ bracket, including units sold by official European Leica dealers, with the M9 starting from 1900€ but usually in the 2000 plus bracket.

Of course, the camera is old and the newer units will be some 10 years old. M9s could be problematic due to sensor issues and those with certified replaced sensors are even more expensive. As an amateur, I don’t feel confortable shelling lots of money having already a nice, if bulky, camera as I would use the Leica only for the pleasure of it and a little street photography.

So, question is, is a M8/M8.2/M8u still worth a thousand euros in late 2018?

Thanks for your insights!

I think it's still worth it. The M8 seems to have levelled off in terms of depreciation. I'm tempted to pick one up as a "ghetto monochrome" as they keep popping up around 1000USD locally

The M8 is a twelve year old, 10MP, crop-sensor, rangefinder camera. Only you can decide if it is worth €1000 to you, or whether there are better alternatives. Have you used one? That would be a good place to start. And don't forget, you are going to need a lens (and the required UV/IR cut filters). Lenses are often more expensive than the body.

Mine still is in pristine condition with approx. 5,000 shutter clicks, I paid $1750 for it 5 years ago, and cropped or not, the files and the user experience with all its faults, are amazing.